Graham, Tom and Ian

Your Lib Dem team for Cheadle West & Gatley Learn more

The Manchester Mile is back! Runners of all abilities welcome to enter

by Lib Dem team on 18 June, 2014

The Manchester Harriers, who have long had a local link (they used to be based at Scholes Field, Gatley and currently hold their Primary School cross-country event at The Cheadle College) are bringing back the Manchester Mile, last run in the 1950s.

Any Runners/Athletes who would like to get an accurate time for the Iconic MILE Distance, please enter asap, electronic timing for all!!!

A minimum of 200 to take part from u15’s through to Veterans, from fairly new sub 10min mile to those hope to get a British Milers Club time.

FREE – Commenorative T-Shirt to all competitors!!!- All for £7.50!!!

Manchester Harriers & A.C. are bringing back The Manchester Mile which was originally run in 1943 until the early 1950’s when Frank Evans won it 3 years on the row and gained the trophy outright.

Previous Winners of The Manchester Mile Trophy:

1943 Sydney Wooderson 1944 C H Bunton 1945 CH Bunton 1946 P Harrison1947 C J Kelly 1948 A B Parker 1949 David Coleman 1950 Frank Evans 1951Frank Evans 1952 Frank Evans

David Coleman won it in 1949 and was the only non-international runner to do so. He recently passed away but we have the support of his family to run the event in his memory as he was a member of Manchester A.C. in his athletic days.

The Harriers have teamed up with Manchester City Councils Athletic Development Team to put the event on at Sportcity Track on Wednesday 16th July.

Plus Manchester City Council Athletic Team will be holding a Manchester Schools event during the day with our event planned from 5.30pm to 9pm for under 15’s to Seniors and Vets.

Please see the entry form & Info attached, i do hope you may have athletes that would like to take part in this event!


   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>